SharePoint sites make it easier for your team to collaborate on important projects efficiently and securely. They keep everyone connected, on track, and safe. But what happens when you no longer need them?
Unfortunately, while Microsoft products are powerful tools, they are also known for confusing settings and vague instructions. Removing a site you don’t need is often easier said than done. And when one wrong move could erase essential data, you can’t afford to make mistakes.
If you’re tired of scrolling through endless outdated tutorials, here’s how to delete a SharePoint site (without losing everything in the process).
Read more: The Top 5 Types of Cyber-Attacks on Small to Medium-Sized Businesses
Why You Might Need to Delete a SharePoint Site
There are many reasons you might decide to delete your SharePoint site:
- A project has concluded, and the site is no longer needed.
- A company restructure has made the site obsolete.
- Your SharePoint environment is becoming cluttered with unused or duplicated sites.
Microsoft themselves recommends that you delete sites once they are no longer necessary, to ensure that relevant content can always be accessed easily. But you need to be careful. Simply pressing the “Delete” button with no further thought could result in the permanent erasure of critical information. If you’re going to remove a site, you must do it properly.
How to Delete a SharePoint Team Site or Communication Site
The following steps will allow you to delete sites in SharePoint Online:
1. Ensure You Have Permission
In order to delete a team or communication site, you must be a SharePoint administrator. Note that on team sites, group owners automatically have admin permissions. Step one is checking that you are allowed to delete the site.
2. Perform an Audit
When you delete a SharePoint site, all pages, document libraries, lists, and data attached to it will also vanish. For this reason, you should always check exactly what is contained within the site before any action is taken. You may discover crucial information you didn’t realise was stored there. Take note of everything attached to the site you have earmarked for deletion, and check whether it is still necessary.
3. Backup the Essentials
Perform a full backup of all data before deleting the site. You never know if a certain piece of information will suddenly become important again later, and you’ll be thankful to have it.
Note: Do not back it up to OneDrive. Choose a secondary platform. The reason for this is because OneDrive attempts to sync automatically to the rest of your Microsoft environment, which on occasion may cause problems when you are attempting to delete data. It has been known to either autonomously delete files or add them back in.
Learn more: What is Digital Transformation?
4. Delete the Site
- Navigate to the site you would like to delete
- Go to the site settings, and then “Site Information”
- Click the “Delete Site” button
- Confirm the deletion
If this does not work, or you cannot see the option, then you can also delete sites using the SharePoint Admin Centre:
- Navigate to https://admin.microsoft.com
- Open the Admin Centre
- Select “Active Sites”
- Find your desired site, then select “Delete”
5. Post-Deletion
By default, SharePoint will retain deleted sites for 93 days. If you change your mind during this time, it can be restored through the Admin Centre. However, if you want to delete it permanently (for example, to reuse the URL), follow these steps:
- Go to the “Deleted Sites” section in the Admin Centre
- Find your desired site
- Select “Delete”
Mistakes to Avoid
Don’t make these critical mistakes while deleting your SharePoint site:
- Forgetting to Backup: Always backup information before you delete anything. Otherwise, you could realise far too late that you accidentally erased crucial data. SharePoint does provide a safety net, but you should not rely on that.
- Not Checking with Staff: You may think a site is unnecessary when in fact, certain staff members actually rely on it to complete tasks. Always check that no one is using the site before you delete it.
- Deleting the Root Site: The root site associated with your organisation should never be deleted. This will render all of your sites inaccessible. If you need to remove an old root site, always replace it instead of deleting.
- Confusing Site Deletion with Page Deletion: Simply deleting the page will not remove the site. Double-check that you are deleting the right thing.
Manage 365 Without the Hassle
Microsoft 365 provides a variety of valuable solutions, including SharePoint. But it isn’t always easy to use, especially when performing administrative tasks. If you’ve wanted to delete a few unnecessary SharePoint sites for a while, but couldn’t figure out how, use this blog as your guide. It will help you remove the sites safely and effectively.
As a certified Microsoft partner, we understand that sometimes businesses need help leveraging everything 365 has to offer. So we’ve written a number of blogs to share our expertise and guide you on your journey. Start by learning about some important productivity-enhancing features within 365.
FAQs
How Do I Know if a SharePoint Site is Safe to Delete?
To check if a SharePoint site is safe to delete, look for recent activity and ask staff members if they are still using it. If nothing within the site has been touched for a while, and no one is reporting that they need it, then it’s probably safe.
How to Delete a Communication Site in SharePoint?
Communication sites function very similarly to team sites, and thus you delete them using the same process. The easiest way to accomplish this is through the Admin Centre, by searching in “Active Sites”, selecting your desired site, and then choosing “Delete”.
Can I Recover a Deleted SharePoint Site?
You can recover a deleted SharePoint site. By default, the Admin Centre stores deleted sites for 93 days. You can restore them from there, if needed.
How Do I Delete Classic Sites?
To delete classic sites, use the SharePoint Admin Centre. It allows you to manage both new and classic sites.
Using older versions of Microsoft products? Learn how to format documents in Word 2016
Can I Archive a Site Instead of Deleting It?
You can absolutely archive a SharePoint site if you would prefer not to delete it. To accomplish this, follow the same process as for deleting a site through the Admin Centre, but select “Archive” instead of “Delete”.


